History of Indian Rajputs Kingdom


  • With the break up of the Pratihara Empire, the well known Rajputs entered the scene in Indian history.
  • The four agnikula Rajputs were the Parihara or Pratiharas, the Chauhans, the Solankis and the Pawars or Parmaras.


  • The Chauhans were feudatories of Prathihara till Simharaja declared independence in the middle of the 10th century. His successor Vigraharaja II defeated Mulraja 1 and overran Gujarat.
  • Ajayraja was on the throne of Sakambhari, the capital in the first quarter of 12th century. He founded the city of Ajaymeru (modern Ajmer).
  • Prithviraj III began his reign in 1177. He defeated Mohd. Ghori in the first battle of Tarain in 1191. In 1192 Mohd. Ghori defeated and executed Prtihiviraj Chauhan.
  • Flarihara regained Ajmer before 1194 but had to surrender to Qutub-uddin Aibak.


  • There were several branches of Paramaras. The main branch ruled in Malwa with its capital at Dhara.
  • Upendra founded the Parmara dynasty of Malwa.
  • Munja also known as Utpala and Vakapatiraja II was a great general.
  • Bhoja was the greatest king of the Parmara dynasty.
  • In A.D. 1008 he sent an army to help the Shahi ruler Anandapala of Punjab against Mahmud of Ghazni. In A.D. 1043 he joined a confederacy of Hindu chiefs after conquering Muslim territories.

Chalukyas of Gujarat 

  • The dynasty was founded by Mularaja I in Anhilpataka around A.D. 942.
  • Bhima I was the grandson of Mulraja. During his reign in A.D. 1025, Mahmud Ghazni overran Gujarat and plundered Somnath. He was suc-ceeded by his son Karan in A.D. 1064.
  • Jaisimha Siddharaja won many battles.
  • Kumarpala ascended the throne in 1143 A.D.
  • Having come under the influence of the Jaina teacher Hemachandra, he embraced Jainism. He reformed the laws and stopped gambling and other evil practices.
  • Mulraja II repulsed the attack of Muslims.
  • In 1297, A lauddin Khalji conquered Gujarat and made it part of the Delhi Sultanate.

Gahadavalas of Kannauj 

  • The Gahadavalas ruled in Kannauj from the third quarter of the 1 I th Century.
  • Chadradeva was the first great ruler of this dynasty.
  • Govindchandra defeated the Muslims and secured the release of his father Madan Chandra.
  • Jayachandra suffered a defeat at the hands of the king Lakshamanasena of Bengal. In 1193, Mohd. Ghori invaded the kingdom of the Gahadavalas and defeated and killed Jaychandra in the battle of Chandawar.


  • The Chandelas ruled in Bundelkhand.
  • The dynasty was founded by Nanuka in the early years of the 9th Century and his capital was Khajuraho.
  • Dhanga was the first independent king of the Chandela dynasty and as-sumed the title Maharajadhiraja.
  • He was succeeded by Ganda who in turn was succeeded by Vidyadhara.
  • During Vidyadhara's reign Mahmud of Ghazni invaded Kalinjar in 1019 and again in 1022. He could not capture the fort and had to retire with friendly terms.
  • In 1165 Parmadideva was defeated by Prithviraj Chauhan. Afterwards, Qutub-ud-din Aibak defeated Parmadideva and occupied a greater part of Bundelkhand.
  • Finally, Alauddin Khalji captured the whole of the kingdom.