Constituent Assemblies 

  • The Constituent Assembly that was elected for undivided India held its first meeting on December 9, 1946. 
  • It was elected by an indirect election by the members of provincial legislative assemblies (lower house only). 
  • In June 1947, delegations from the provinces of Sindh, East Bengal, Baluchistan, West Punjab, and the North West Frontier Province formed the Constituent Assembly of Pakistan in Karachi. 

Members of Constituent Assembly 

  • Dr Sachidananda Sinha was elected temporary President of the Constituent Assembly on December 9, 1946. 
  • Later on Dr Rajendra Prasad became the President on December 11, 1946. 
  • The Vice-President of the Constituent Assembly was Professor Harendra Coomar Mookerjee (former Vice-Chancellor of Calcutta University and a prominent Christian from Bengal who also served as the chairman of the Minorities Committee of the Constituent Assembly). He was also appointed governor of West Bengal after India became a republic. 
  • On August 29, 1947, the Constituent Assembly appointed a Drafting Committee under the chairmanship of Dr Ambedkar with the following members: 
    i. N. Gopalsamy lyangar 
    ii. Alladi Krishnaswamy lyer 
    iii. K. M. Munshi 
    iv. Mohammed Sadayuthulla 
    v. B. L. Mitter (later replaced by Mr Madhava Rao) 
    vi. Dr D. P. Khaitan (replaced by Sri. T. T. Krishnamachari after death)

Sources of Constitution 

The Constitution of India has been drawn extensively from the western legal traditions in its enunciation of the principles of a liberal democracy. It has adopted the following features from other constitutions: 

Government of India Act, 1935 

  • Federal scheme 
  • Office of governor 
  • Judiciary 
  • Public service commission 
  • Emergency provisions 
  • Administrative details